Dryer timer knobs will turn in both directions (clockwise and counter-clockwise) when setting the dry time. Sometimes the timer will become hard to turn. This DIY dryer repair guide has step-by-step instructions about how to replace a mechanical timer on a dryer without keypad controls. Can a repairman replace the metal shaft or loosen it somehow? Weve had it since 2007-present. Why won't my homeowner's insurance pay for repairing the whole roof? Pandemic benefits underpaid in most states, watchdog finds, Trump threatens defense bill over social media rule. If this is the case the timer knob will easily break if you try to force the timer around. I assume it's because you're turning against the timer, but I'm no expert. https://www.partselect.com/PS1482197-GE-WE1M654-Timer-Knob.htm Still have questions? Timer Control Knob WE1M964 with Reinforced Metal Ring By AMI Exact for GE Dryer AP4980845 PS3487132 Description [Parts Number]: WE1M964 Timer Control Knob [Compatible Brands]: General Electric, Hotpoint, RCA, Sears and Kenmore Dryers [Directly Replaces]: 1811122, AH3487132, EA3487132, PS3487132, B00LHRAGHW https://www.partselect.ca/PS1482197-GE-WE1M654-Timer-Knob.htm The newer GE dryer element often comes with the element pre-installed in a cage assembly, there -may- be a restring kit available, but often this element comes with the can cage all together. Thanks for your help. Since we've had it I have been turning it counter-clock wise. NO: The dryer timer is not moving. When a clothes dryer won't turn on, the problem often is more difficult to diagnose than it is to fix. Someone suggested I check the belt and I did open the dryer and the belt is fine. The timer WE04X20416 is designed to operate properly with the knob provided without any modification. GE and Hotpoint: The timer turns clockwise when the dryer is operating. Slightly turn the pliers in the direction you usually turn to set the timer to the appropriate heating cycle. Most models can be programmed for o